If a boy has completed the second grade and has earned the Bobcat Badge, he may start earning the Bear rank. He needs a Bear Scout handbook, Bear neckerchief, and Bear neckerchief slide. He will also need a blue Cub Scout Uniform. This part of the boy scout trail is intended to take one school year, preparing the scout to begin his Webelos adventures after he completes third grade.

Bear Advancement

Bear Scouts do adventures described in their Bear handbook that advance them towards their Bear rank. By completing seven adventures, the Bear rank is earned.

Bear Rank Requirements

Complete each of the following Bear required adventures with your den or family:

  • Bear Claws
  • Bear Necessities
  • Fellowship and Duty to God
  • Fur, Feathers, and Ferns
  • Baloo the Builder
  • Paws for Action (Duty to Country)

Complete one Bear elective adventure of your den or family’s choosing from this list:

  • Grin and Bear It
  • A Bear Goes Fishing
  • Bear Picnic Basket
  • Beat of the Drum
  • Critter Care
  • Forensics
  • Make It Move
  • Marble Madness
  • Roaring Laughter
  • Robotics
  • Salmon Run
  • Super Science
  • A World of Sound

With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide and earn the Cyber Chip award for your age.*

* If your family does not have Internet access at home AND you do not have ready Internet access at school or another public place or via a mobile device, the Cyber Chip portion of this requirement may be waived by your parent or guardian.

Akela is the name given to the Cub Scout’s parent or guardian, the caring adult guiding him along his Cub Scouting trail. Akela is responsible for acknowledging completion of each adventure requirement by signing and dating the appropriate spot in the Bear’s handbook. There is also a spot for the Bear Den Leader to sign for each requirement. The Adventure Tracking pages in the back of the Bear handbook can be used by the Bear to track his progress all in one spot. His den leader will enter his advancement information into our Pack’s advancement tracking software, known as Packmaster.

A Bear that has fulfilled his rank requirements still has a lot more adventure waiting for him. He can continue to complete elective adventures with his Akela or his den, or at district and council hosted events. He may try to earn all adventure belt loops before moving on to Webelos